90’s Alternative Third Song Selection

My third selection is Interstate Love Song by the Stone Temple Pilots (though I often refer to it as Highway Love Song, close enough).

This is an interesting pick for me because, in all honesty, I don’t really care for Stone Temple Pilots. To me, they represent one of the aspects of 90’s Alternative that I never cared for (the sort of, dark, everything stinks grunge music). I am not exactly sure how to put it in to words, but their music often feels slow, unexciting, and often depressing. But, I am a huge fan of this song! This song gets me hooked right from the very beginning where that subdued guitar solo transitions right in to a roaring rendition of the song’s main guitar chorus. The lyrics are certainly not uplifting, nor overly complex, but the song has a great driving flow, solid and energetic guitar rifts, and a confident feel which in a way mirrors the story about building up the confidence to finally let someone go.

*My wife informed me later that this song was written about the song writer’s troubles with his addiction to heroin and his current relationship with his girlfriend.

About Boy Danger

I have many interests including clay sculpture, art, music, reading, writing, movies, and video games. I am hoping to share these interests through my blog and find other people interested in these things as well.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

