Fourth 90’s Alternative Song Selection!

My fourth selection for most 90’s ish 90’s Alternative song is Hook by Blues Traveler.

When I first heard this song my reaction was something along the lines of: ‘where did THIS come from?’ One of the aspects of 90’s Alternative that I enjoyed the most was its ability to encompass several different aspects of rock music. Radio stations at this time would play a track from Nirvana and then follow that with a song from Blues Traveler.  This is still one of my favorite songs to listen to, but it definitely falls under the category of songs I’ve heard a million times but still do not know all the words to (It doesn’t mater what I say, as long as I… seem… inflated???). The song has a great upbeat energy to it that makes you want to sing along (with the words you know at any rate 😉 ). The lead singer, John Popper, lends his unmistakable vocals to the track, which he sings with great presence and gusto. And who could forget what is probably the most recognizable instrument in the song: the harmonica. Oh my word, the harmonica! This guy was CRAZY good at the harmonica. And to hear a song featuring an amazing harmonica solo right after hearing a punk or grunge song on the radio, well that’s just something special right there. To be frank though, I’m not sure if this song is all that ‘bluesy’…

About Boy Danger

I have many interests including clay sculpture, art, music, reading, writing, movies, and video games. I am hoping to share these interests through my blog and find other people interested in these things as well.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

