For My Next 90’s Alternative Song Selection…

Since I have not done one of these for a while now, I thought I should just go with something fun. My next 90’s Alternative Song Selection is Two Princes by The Spin Doctors from 1992. This song was a #7 Single in the USA, and a quick glance at Wikipedia revealed the slightly comical fact that this song is ranked as one of VH1’s top song of the 90’s but also on Blender Magazine’s 50 Worst Songs Ever. Though, I suppose you could also infer from this that Blender Magazine thought the 90’s stunk (most likely incorrectly though).

Talk about an upbeat song! There is just something about this one that gets you smiling, dancing, or just grooving in your seat.  This song came out about 22 years ago, and I’ve heard it hundreds of times, but it still always gets me dancing and singing along with it. The lyrics are generally simple, the beat keeps the song moving at a brisk pace, and the singer’s enthusiasm is contagious. With an almost dangerously catchy chorus, this song just begs you to sing along with it. The melody, guitar rifts, and drumming all feel rather basic but still constantly drive the song forward. Much of this forward momentum is created by the deliberate and prominent drumming track (the song even begins with a drum fill, and features a drums and voice only chorus near the end). I remember Two Princes being played all over the place when I was a teenager, probably because of its radio friendly appeal (upbeat, easily digested, and no objectionable or suggestive content). There is certainly something pleasant, maybe even noble to a degree, about a song where a guy is fighting for a girl’s affections, instead of many other pop songs that seem to suggest that the target of his affections would be crazy not to want him (not that we should read in to this song too much).  Keep enjoying this song for years to come? I’ll just go ahead now.

About Boy Danger

I have many interests including clay sculpture, art, music, reading, writing, movies, and video games. I am hoping to share these interests through my blog and find other people interested in these things as well.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

