Next 90’s Alternative Song Choice: Follow you Down

My next song selection is Follow You Down by the Gin Blossoms. It was released in 1996 and reached the 9th spot in the Billboard HOT 100 that same year.

I was inspired to write another 90’s Alternative Song Selection today because this song just played on my Pandora station, and I was reminded of how much I enjoy it. The Gin Blossoms were a staple of the 90’s Alternative scene with songs like Til I Hear It From You, Hey Jealously, and Found Out About You. I think they had a nice, smooth, and generally laid back sort of vibe to their music that made it appealing to many people. Unfortunately, one of the groups guitarists had problems with depression and alcoholism, which eventually lead to him committing suicide in 1993, and the group ended up splitting up in the spring of 1997.

Of the several hits the Gin Blossoms had though, Follow You Down is my personal favorite due to its more lively nature. When I try to remember songs by the Gin Blossoms or 90’s Alternative songs in general, this is one of the first songs that comes to my mind. I think that the Gin Blossoms were good musicians who made music that was enjoyable and easy to listen to, but I do not feel like their sound varied that much from song to song. For me, this makes the more distinct sound of Follow you Down stand out from their other songs. Follow You Down may not be the most complex song in terms of lyrics or music, but the guitar parts are clean and keep the song moving, and the chorus is very catchy and easy to sing along with.

The Gin Blossoms are actually together again, as far as I am aware, and they released a new album in 2010. It’s always great to see a solid group from the 90’s back together again (or still together). Thanks for reading!

About Boy Danger

I have many interests including clay sculpture, art, music, reading, writing, movies, and video games. I am hoping to share these interests through my blog and find other people interested in these things as well.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

