My Frustrating Experience with SETT

settpicture

I have been doing a bit of investigation in to other blogging platforms just to see what is available. Don’t get me wrong, I am perfectly satisfied with WordPress so far, I was just curious what other platforms were like. One blogging platform that caught my interest was Sett (www.sett.com). Sett’s main ‘hook’ is that their algorithms allow users to build a following more quickly by actively directing interested Sett readers to your posts. As far as I can tell, all this involves is the platform offering some ‘suggested related readings’ at the end of posts. I can’t really comment on how effective their techniques are since I posted a very limited amount of content on Sett. Sett also has an overall appealing and simple layout. If things all ran smoothly, there might be some promise to Sett.

What I can comment on is the frustration I experienced while trying to post and design my blog on Sett. I felt like I was constantly fighting the service to get things done. Images constantly get re-sized for no reason (like my banner which is now being stretched out for no reason), posts do not always look the same in edited and posted form, features are very limited, and changes to the blog seem to sometimes take several hours to go through (I just got an e-mail for a comment from about a week ago and a blog I accidentally created appears to be impossible to erase). This happens regardless of whether I am using IE, Firefox, or Chrome. Currently I’m spending more time struggling with the interface than I am actually writing. WordPress has always more or less been ‘what you see is what you get’ on posts and blog design and hardly ever makes me feel like I am fighting the system to get what I want.

Maybe Sett will be worth checking out in the future (and other people seem to be able to post just fine), but for me, the experience has mostly been frustration.

 

Sett, Sett Images and Videos, and ‘The Blog That Builds Your Audience’ are copy-write Sett 2014

About Boy Danger

I have many interests including clay sculpture, art, music, reading, writing, movies, and video games. I am hoping to share these interests through my blog and find other people interested in these things as well.
This entry was posted in Personal Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

