First Mosaic Piece

I’ve been reading through the book ‘The Mosaic Artist’s Bible of Techniques’ by Teresa Mills to learn some introductory techniques for creating mosaics. I have never done any work with mosaics before, but I thought it might be an interesting new hobby to try. I like the idea of lots of several smaller pieces, possibly even broken fragments or waste from other projects, coming together to form a new image. I do not know if I will be very good at creating mosaics, but I suppose there is only one way to find out.

DSCN2653

This image is the work I have done so far on my first project. As you can see, it is basically a simple grid with a color pattern like those found on a dish or table cloth. This work is the first project suggested in the book I am reading. After I obtain some more materials and find a suitable location, I plan on adding grout to the project.

Overall, I think this work looks alright so far, but some of the rows could be a bit straighter.

As always, thanks for reading, and please feel free to leave any comments below!

About Boy Danger

I have many interests including clay sculpture, art, music, reading, writing, movies, and video games. I am hoping to share these interests through my blog and find other people interested in these things as well.
This entry was posted in Mosaic, Personal Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

