Dangerously New Blog Title Images

Recently I came up with the idea of creating some title images for my more frequent blog topics. I think I am fairly competent with clay and artwork that I can manipulate with my hands in three-dimensional space, but I have never felt very confident in my drawing or painting abilities. But, I wanted to create some unique drawings rather than just having fancy text or creating a montage of other people’s images (not promising that I never will do that though). So I spent some time making some drawings, and overall I satisfied with the results. They are certainly simple, but that is a given considering my drawing ability. Thankfully drawing programs have straight line and circle tools!

Some of these title images are for blogs posts that I have not finished writing yet, so this is a preview of things to come as well.

game reviews with text sign

Quick reviews gave me the idea of a machine that just churns out reviews. Also, the reviews would just simply be ‘good’ or ‘bad’. I wasn’t really trying to go for any heaven or hell imagery here, but fire and wings felt like an easy way to show approved and rejected games.

dangerously curious with text larger

My wife came up with the idea of someone being followed by the very same dangerous creature that they were pursuing. I made the character look a bit like a detective to give my generic circle man some character.

 

games I use to love signed with text

Eventually I want to write some posts about  video games I use to play all the time when I was a kid. I think we all remember activities we use to love doing when we were a child and look back on them with a great fondness. An idea came to me of a childhood romance, where one might carve the others name in to a tree to show that their feelings will last forever.

 

night gazing everything in place with text signed

I wanted to create a feature where I could quickly list some of my current favorite things, rather than having single posts dedicated to one subject. When I thought about this, I thought of a person exploring the stars, with stars being a reference to the bookmark button. I played with the idea of the thumbs up symbol from Facebook, but I didn’t like the results I got from that.

old skool games finish image with text larger border sign

I also want to start writing some posts about re-playing games from my childhood. My goal would be to see how I feel about these games now compared to when I was a child. When I thought about what to draw for this one, I started by looking at images of old schools. I then drew a quick outline of the classic school building and added some touches to make it look older (a literal interpretation of ‘old skool’). I added two Nintendo systems to the top window with the intent of making them feel like things that were forgotten and left behind.

 

As always, thanks for reading and feel free to leave any comments below!

 

About Boy Danger

I have many interests including clay sculpture, art, music, reading, writing, movies, and video games. I am hoping to share these interests through my blog and find other people interested in these things as well.
This entry was posted in Personal Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dangerously New Blog Title Images

  1. KellyJo says:

    Tho are such awesome images I had to leave a comment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

