Dangerously Personal Oct 20th: Slight Illness and Life Updates

I’ve been dealing with a lingering illness for the last few weeks that got worse recently (mostly a bad sore throat). I’m feeling better now, but I was not up for posting any articles this last week. So, I thought I would start with a personal blog post to start off the week.

I spent a decent amount of time working on my latest mosaic (which is also really my first mosaic) over the last two weeks. I think the project is coming together well, but I might run out of glass before I finish. I’ll have a more detailed update on that project in a future post. One thing I can tell you is that breaking a bunch of glass tiles can be rather tiring for your hands.

On Friday  I went on a trip with some family to a warehouse sale at a stained glass factory. I thought I might be able to find some glass to use in some future mosaics, though I did not have any particular projects in mind. Most of the glass for sale was laid out in boxes in almost no particular order. I’ve never been a fan of digging through the clearance sections at stores to try to find a good deal, so these sort of events do not typically have much appeal for me (especially because you never know what they will have). I ended up picking out a few pieces of highly discounted glass (coming out to about five dollars in total), which I selected mostly based on thinking they were pretty.

On Saturday I had my first choral concert with a local college community choir and my first choral concert in about thirteen years. Overall the short concert went well, but I was disappointed by the performance not quite being all there in terms of feel and dynamics. Much of the choir did not seem fully confident or comfortable with the music either, and singers felt initially very timid at the beginning of songs. The songs definitely could have used a bit more cleaning up and some fine tuning to take them to next level. For a local community choir I think the group is very strong and has a great sound, and I probably feel the need to critique the performance more because I believe the group is capable of a better performance with some additional effort.

I am hoping to have some time in the near future to watch and play some Halloween related movies and games, which I usually do this time of year. I use to have a tradition of playing through Resident Evil 4 and Alan Wake every or every other Halloween, which are two of favorite horror/suspense games. I might check out some of the Alan Wake downloadable content this year, but I probably will not fully play through either of those games this year. For this year I will probably check out Steam for some fun horror games and Netflix for some interesting horror movies, though, not anything actually all that scary.

Thanks for reading, have a great week, and please leave any comments you may have below!

About Boy Danger

I have many interests including clay sculpture, art, music, reading, writing, movies, and video games. I am hoping to share these interests through my blog and find other people interested in these things as well.
This entry was posted in Personal Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dangerously Personal Oct 20th: Slight Illness and Life Updates

  1. GrimbySlayer says:

    The Evil Within might be a good Halloween type of game if you’re looking for something new. It’s by Shinji Mikami who created Resident Evil and plays like RE4 with a heavy RE1/Silent Hill vibe. Focuses more on psychological fear instead of relying on jump scares. It can be incredibly gory at times…

    Like

  2. Boy Danger says:

    That game is definitely one I would like to check out in the future. It looks like it has a very RE4 inspired look to it. I’m not always in to super gory games, but I don’t think that would stop me from playing it outright. Not sure if I can buy a game at full price with so many games constantly on sale on Steam though. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

