November 18th: Upset Tummy and Music Polishing

Dear blog,

How are all of your 1s and 0s doing today? Hopefully they are all in the right order. Is that considered a computer mental health disorder if they aren’t? Other people would call that a “bug” but maybe they just aren’t comfortable with your issues.

It’s been another somewhat emotionally confusing week. I ate a lot of very heavy foods over the weekend and my digestive system is not pleased with me. I’ve been dealing with stomach acid issues the past several days, which has been making me miserable. It felt kind of like I’m being stabbed in the esophagus sometimes, which is to say, it was not pleasant. I’m still not exactly sure what triggers this. The usual culprits are fatty and acidic foods. That and getting older probably. When my body feels gross, it generally doesn’t help my mental outlook either. I’ve been kind of “snippy” recently. But, I think it’s kind of understandable (though not fun to be around).

I’ve been pushing to get one of my Halloween inspired songs finished. I’m really enjoying the tune and the overall feel, but it’s got a bunch of pieces that aren’t cooperating with each other. It’s also largely in a lower register or range, so it’s difficult for it not to sound ‘muddy’ and congested. My natural vocal range is baritone or low tenor, so if I sing in that range, there can be lots of overlap with the piano, drums, and sometimes bass. Especially since I tried to add some vintage and distorted  sounds to the instruments. Lower vocals tend to not “cut through the mix”, which is to say, they don’t stand out in front of the other instruments. Gosh it’s so difficult to explain it in normal words! Lower frequencies also tend to be associated with terms like “mud” and “thump” when you are doing an EQ curve. I guess I’m going to have to keep working on perfecting my muddy and thumpy vocals! Oh well, I’ll get there. I don’t think I’m aiming for perfection here, but I also don’t want moments that just sound wrong or odd.

How about you blog? How has your week been going? It’s been awhile since I’ve checked in! And no, I haven’t been checking out other blogs on the social medias! Geez.

Your Friend and Creator,

Karl

About Karl

I have many interests including musical instruments, music writing, movies, and video games . I hope to share these interests through my blog and find other people interested in these things as well.
This entry was posted in Personal Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment